Thrifty Finds | Melville Markets

Old Bottles Sign

Vintage Bottles

Skulls

Nicknacks

German Pottery

Mini Succulents

Big Succulents

Succulent Pots

Vintage Art

Waxing Stamps

Mustard VW

Grammaphone

Ever since we moved to Fremantle, I’ve been hearing a lot about these mysterious Melville Markets but have never quite managed to make it there, that was until last weekend. They were mysterious because a) I had heard different reports on their location b) noone was admitting to actually having been to them and c) car boot sales aren’t really a thing in Australia as far as I can tell! I forgot about them for a while until I spoke to a neighbour a few doors down who had been and said it was definitely worth a punt. So last Sunday morning I headed down with a friend to see what thrifty treasures we could find. I was pleasantly surprised to see some vintage, antique and home grown plant stalls mixed in with the usual clothes, toys and tat.

A few in particular caught my eye with bright retro colours, animal skulls, West German pottery, huge old bottle collections and a plant stall which gave me a lots of succulent inspired ideas. Not one to go away from a market empty handed (well who is?), I managed to pick up six lovely succulents for $18 and two matching vintage bottles for $1 each which say ‘This Bottle Is The Property Of Nugget Polish WA’ and underneath ‘This Bottle Must Not To Be Used As A Food Container’. I’ve got plans to make some yellow billy ball flowers out of wool and use them as vases in my living room – DIY coming soon!

Nugget Bottles Edit

For the succulents, I wanted to recreate one of the miniature gardens that I saw at the market, so I got straight to work using a terracotta pot, some succulent/potting mix, large stones and small yellow pebbles that I already had in the garden. The pot that I had was much bigger than the ones at the market, so I filled it with normal potting mix halfway, then broken plates and then succulent mix. I added five of the succulents, then the large stones pushed in quite well and finally decorated it with the yellow pebbles. What do you think?

Terracotta Pot: $15 from Bunnings (already owned)
Succulent Potting Mix: $7 from Bunnings (already owned)
Large Stones: $10 large bag from Masters (already owned)
Small Yellow Pebbles: $5 bag from Bunnings (already owned)
Succulents : $15.50 (only used 5)

Total Cost: $35

Succulent Garden DIY

Leave a Reply

