DIY | Vintage Desk Chair

I picked up a vintage swivel chair from gumtree a few weeks ago (top picture) and thought it looked ok as is. But on closer inspection, the “leather” turned out to be torn PVC and the legs were a lot more rusty than they looked from the picture.  As I’m not one to back away from a challenge, I had a quick look through Pinterest and found this great DIY (bottom picture), what do you think?

I like the natural ply backrest and painted legs, but not sure I’m going to be able to recreate the wooden seat; so I’m going to have a quick rummage through my many piles of fabric and see what Liberty treasure I can find. The wheels are plastic and quite bulky and don’t really  fit the style, so I’m thinking of replacing them with stoppers rather than castors as finding the perfect sized vintage metal castors seems quite unlikely in Perth! But if you know somewhere I can order them online, just let me know…

Leave a Reply

